Church of St. George the Victorious

The church was built in 1968 and belonged to the military department. This is one of the working Christian churches in Samarkand. In 1924, the church was closed. A year later, the Christian community received the chapel in the cemetery in their disposal. Later in 1927, the community got permission to build a new summerhouse at the chapel. Unfortunately, the chapel and summerhouse were completely destroyed during the fire.

In 1937 the St. George Community bought a new house where the new temple is now located. It has the form of the letter “G” with a room for prayers at the base. Finally, in 1958 it receives the name of St George Temple.

Today, the Orthodox Church has small yet very active parishioners that visit the church on weekdays and on holidays.

Other Travel Articles

Lake Issyk-Kul

Lake Sary-Chelek

Beldersay

Ask